Now Reading
’76’ Emerges Big Winner at The 2017 AMVCAs: Complete Winners List + Red Carpet Looks!

’76’ Emerges Big Winner at The 2017 AMVCAs: Complete Winners List + Red Carpet Looks!


he fifth edition of the prestigious Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCAs), which was hosted by IK Osakioduwa and Minenhle ‘Minnie’ Dlamini, was held on March 4, 2017, at the Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos. The red carpet section, which saw celebrities show up at their absolute best, was hosted by Eku Edewor, Nick Mutuma, Helen Paul, and Uti Nwachukwu.

The film, ’76’ emerged as the Best Overall Movie, with Rita Dominic taking home the award for Best Actress in a Drama.

A list of the winners at the 5th AMVCAs award night, and some of the most stunning looks on the red carpet

Best Makeup Artist: Hakeem Ajibola for Perekem Odom for Oloibiri

Best Costume Designer: Pat Egwurube for 76

Best Sound Editor: Guy Steer for Vaya

Best Picture Editor: Nnodim Chigozie and Paula Peterson for Oloibiri

Best Lighting Designer: Elliot Sewape for 93 Days

Best Cinematographer: Lance Gewer for Happiness is a Four-Letter Word

Best Short Film or Online Video – Ogo Okpue for Cat Face

Best Documentary – Uga Carlini for Alison

Recognition Award for Mnet Original Productions

  • Best Actress In a Comedy – Deborah Anungwa for Hustle
  • Best Actor in a Comedy – Samuel ‘Spiff’ Ajibola for The Johnsons
  • Best Actress in a Drama – Meg Otanwa for Hush
  • Best Actor in a Drama – David Jones David for Hotel Majestic
  • Best Comedy SeriesThe Johnsons
  • Best Drama SeriesTinsel

Best Indigenous Language (Swahili) – Dauda Otieno Anguka for Zilizala

Best Indigenous Language (Hausa) – Tijani Shehu Yahaya for Yaki da Zuciya

Best Indigenous Language (Yoruba) – Abiodun Jimoh and Jumoke Odetola for Somewhere In the Dark

Best Indigenous Language (Igbo) – Crey Ahanonu for Amonye-be-Onye

Best Soundtrack/Original score – Michael Ogunlade for The Encounter

Best TV Show – Funke Akindele-Bello for Jenifa’s Diary

Best Writer – Craig Freimond, Tshabalira Lebakeng, Anthony Mafela, David Majoka, Madoda Ntuli, Robbie Thorpe and Harriet Perlman for Vaya

Best Supporting Actress – Ebele Okaro Onyuike for Four One Love

Best Supporting Actor – Rotimi Salami for Just Not Married

Best Actress in a Comedy – Funke Akindele-Bello for Jenifa’s Diary

Best Actor in a Comedy – Imeh Bishop Umeh for The Boss Is Mine

Best Actress in a Drama – Rita Dominic for 76

Best Actor in a Drama – Sambasa Nzeribe for Slow Country

Trailblazer Award – Somkele Idhalama

AMVCA Industry Merit Award – Chika Okpala

Best Movie (East Africa) – Kati Kati

Best Movie (West Africa) – Oloibiri

Best Movie (Southern Africa) – All About Love

Best Director – Izu Ojukwu for 76

Best Movie76 by Adonija Owiriwa and Izu Ojukwu

Ufuoma McDermott

Wofai Fada

Richard Mofe Damijo

Zainab Balogun

Uche Jombo Rodriguez

Toyin Abraham

Sika Osei

Somkele Iyamah-Idhalama

Toolz O

Toni Tones

Timi Dakolo

Sharon Ojong

Sharon Ooja

Rukky Sanda

Adesua Etomi

Alex Ekubo

Chioma Akpotha

Destiny Amaka

Dorcas Shola Fapson

Bayray McNwizu

Deyemi Okanlawon

Gbenro and Osas Ajibade

Frank Donga

AY: AMVCA 2017

Elma Godwin

Ini Dima Okojie

Ivie Okujaye-Egboh and Amanda O

JJC and Jennifer Akindele

Ik Ogbonna: AMVCA 2017

Falz TheBahdGuy

Kehinde Bankole

Joke Silva

Lala Akindoju

Layole Oyatogun

Lilian Afe

Bryan Okwara

Lilian Esoro

Makida Moka

Meg Otanwa

Mercy Johnson Okojie

Nkem Owoh

Okawa Shaznay

Mimi Onalaja

Michelle Dede

Rita Dominic

Sam Ajibola

Mabel Makun

Nana Akua Addo

Photo credit: IG | As captioned

For the latest in fashion, lifestyle, and culture, follow us on Instagram @StyleRave_

Leave Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Style Rave participates in various affiliate marketing programs, which means we may get paid commissions on editorially chosen products purchased through our links to retailer sites.

All rights reserved. No digital content on this website may not be reproduced, published, broadcasted, cached, rewritten, or redistributed in whole or in part without prior
express written permission from STYLE RAVE. Use of and/or registration on any portion of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Copyright © 2024 Style Rave NG LLC, dba STYLE RAVE

Scroll To Top