Now Reading
Virgil Abloh Leads As CFDA Unveils Fashion Nominees And Honorees For 2019

Virgil Abloh Leads As CFDA Unveils Fashion Nominees And Honorees For 2019

Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) just made another big reveal. Big things are happening over at the Council – from the news of the 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards to a personnel shake-up. 

This past Tuesday, the CFDA announced the names of the nominees and honorees for this year’s award show after recently announcing that Tom Ford will become its new chairman. The prestigious industry event is set to take place at the Brooklyn Museum on June 3.

In a series of posts released on Instagram, the council shared the list of the award nominees which include but isn’t limited to:

Emerging Designer of the Year

Emily Adams Bode for Bode

Beth Bugdaycay for Foundrae

Heron Preston, Catherine Holstein for Khaite

Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud

Accessory Designer of the Year 

Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry
Virgil Abloh for Off-White
Tabitha Simmons, Telfar Clemens for Telfar
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Brandon Maxwell, Marc Jacobs

Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte

Rosie Assoulin

Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

Menswear Designer of the Year

Mike Amiri for Amiri

Virgil Abloh for Off-White

2018’s CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund award-winner Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss

Rick Owens 

Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York

Virgil Abloh

Each of the nominees for the Emerging Designer Award will be making their CFDA Fashion Award debut this year. However, the other categories include several familiar faces, like the Olsens, who won Accessory Designer of the Year for The Row in 2018; Sander Lak, who was presented with the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent for Sies Marjan in 2018; and Ghanaian-American, Virgil Abloh, who was nominated for Off-White for both Womenswear and Menswear Designer of the Year in 2018.  

For honorees, the Founder’s Award which is given in honour of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert will go to the stylist and editor Carine Roitfeld. The Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammetti International Award will be presented to Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen. The Media Award, which honours American fashion writer Eugenia Sheppard, will go to fashion editor and writer Lynn Yaeger while the Positive Change Award will go to Eileen Fisher for her commitment to sustainability.

According to the CFDA:

“The CFDA Fashion Awards celebrate the outstanding creativity in American fashion,” said Steven Kolb, CFDA president and CEO. “There will be exciting changes to this year’s awards, and we are honoured to have Valentino and Giancarlo Giammetti join us as we name the International Award.”

This means we would see more honorees be mentioned in the next couple of weeks.

All winners will be announced at the award show and although the organisation hasn’t announced a host yet, we hope he or she is as lit! as last year’s host, Issa Rae. Also, here’s hoping Virgil Abloh walks away with more than one award since he is currently leading in nominations.

For the latest in fashion, lifestyle and culture, follow us on Instagram @StyleRave_

Leave Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Style Rave participates in various affiliate marketing programs, which means we may get paid commissions on editorially chosen products purchased through our links to retailer sites.

Copyright © 2023 Style Rave NG LLC dba STYLE RAVE

Scroll To Top