Connect with us

The Most Rave-Worthy Looks At The 2019 CFDA Awards + Winners’ List


The Most Rave-Worthy Looks At The 2019 CFDA Awards + Winners’ List

The 2019 Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Awards took place last night at the Brooklyn Museum for the second time in a row. The CFDA Foundation which has Tom Ford taking over as Chairman this June was founded in 1962 as a not-for-profit trade association. Its membership consists of more than 500 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewellery and accessory designers.

Often referred to as the Oscars of fashion, the annual CFDA Awards recognizes outstanding achievement in the fashion and entertainment industries and as always, the event did not disappoint.

The apex of the night was Diane Von Furstenberg’s speech after Michael Kors surprised her with a tribute before she handed over the organisation’s chairmanship to Tom Ford. “I have been privileged to lead the CFDA for the last 13 years. In fashion, we are about glamorous entrances, but beautiful exits are equally important. I could not have wished for a better exit, a more glamorous upgrade, and a better successor than Tom Ford.” She said.

2019 CFDA Awards

Jennifer Lopez

Jennifer Lopez received the Fashion Icon Award while costume designer Bob Mackie was awarded the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award for his work with CherDiana RossBette Midler and a host of other celebrities. Rick Owens was named Menswear Designer of the Year while Brandon Maxwell was named Womenswear Designer of the Year. Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen were awarded Accessory Designer of the Year for their luxury label, The Row.

Comedians Hasan Minhaj and Jessica Williams piloted the 2019 CFDA Awards which had some of the biggest names in the industry in attendance. Guests stepped out in varying shades of stunning designs and we’ve got our faves!

Check out the most rave-worthy looks from the 2019 CFDA red carpet + full list of winners…

2019 CFDA Awards

Gigi Hadid

Ashley Graham

Ayesha Sesay

2019 CFDA Awards

Kat Graham

Hilary Rhoda

Alek Wek

2019 CFDA Awards

Nina Garcia

Karolina Kurkova

June Ambrose

2019 CFDA

Anna Wintour

2019 CFDA Awards

Lily Aldridge

2019 CFDA

Laura Harrier

Halima Aden

Barbara Palvin

Winnie Harlow

Amber Valletta

2019 CFDA Awards

Lili Reinhart

2019 CFDA Awards

Taylor Hill

2019 CFDA

Teyana Taylor

Winners’ list…

Menswear Designer of the Year: Rick Owens

Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Lynn Yaeger

Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Carine Roitfeld

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Bob Mackie

Accessory Designer of the Year: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Board of Directors’ Tribute: Barbie

Emerging Designer of the Year: Emily Adams Bode, Bode

Positive Change Award: Eileen Fisher

Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammetti International Award: Sarah Burton, Alexander McQueen

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Brandon Maxwell

Fashion Icon Award: Jennifer Lopez

Photo credit: Shutterstock, Getty Images

For the latest in fashion, lifestyle and culture, follow us on Instagram @StyleRave_

At Style Rave, we aim to inspire our readers by providing engaging content to not just entertain but to inform and empower you as you ASPIRE to become more stylish, live smarter and be healthier. Follow us on Instagram! @StyleRave_ ♥

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Awards










To Top